Good night, sweetheart

I had a long day. It’s the first day of what will be a long week.

But tonight, as I lay my head next to R’s on her pillow and she stroked my hair with her soft little fingers, I couldn’t be any happier. Or so I thought.

“I love your hair, Mommy.”

I opened my eyes and looked at her.  I told her she had pretty hair too, and that I loved her very much. Then I closed my eyes again. She continued to run her fingers through my hair.

“Mommy, you’re beautiful.”

My eyes filled with tears. I thanked her. I told her she was awesome, amazing, the best thing that ever happened to me.

Sometimes I get so tired, so frustrated, so hadituptohere with the “nos” and the “whys” and the “rightNOWs.” And it’s not like these little moments, moments where she touches my heart with her kindness and empathy, are the only times I realize that this is all totally worth it. I never doubt that she is worth it – not really.

But these moments make it something awesome, something incredible, something inspiring. I am watching this little girl evolve into a person. I get to be a part of this for the rest of my life. I just need to remember that.

Of course, being told I’m beautiful doesn’t hurt.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good night, sweetheart

  1. Victoria says:

    You’ve got the sweetest kid. You know that, right?

  2. Christina says:

    Compassionate children are not born, they are made. 😉

  3. mpotter says:

    that’s a very sweet moment, indeed!

  4. see. All that fuss and all that worry… She’s a wonderful girl, your R. Well done.

Leave a Reply

