3-2-1 Blastoff!

She did great. I was a nervous wreck, but she did great. She hated the seat belt on the plane and wanted Mommy to hold her when it was impossible, but overall, it was not the worst nightmare I had anticipated. She even slept through take-off on three of the four legs.

Florida was awesome – too short, of course. We went to Butterfly World and Lion Country Safari and the Marine Life Center and the beach. I somehow managed to catch a tiny little fish in the ocean (not purposefully, I was trying to get a bucket of water for R’s sandcastle project) using only a Barbie bucket borrowed from my dad’s awesome girlfriend. And R showed off her brilliance and stunning memory skills by repeatedly asking us about Mommy’s sunglasses, which we told her (before the trip) had fallen into the ocean off the Juno Beach pier the last time Mommy and Daddy visited Grandpa – four years ago.

If you ask R what her favorite part was, she alternates between the ostrids (ostriches) and deer at Lion Country Safari and finding seashells and building sand castles on the beach. Which reminds me – I have a freezer bag full of sea shells that need cleaning and separating.

Since we’ve been back, Dave had surgery on his shoulder and is an invalid hopped up on a nerve-blocker pumped directly into his neck (he carries it around with him like a colostomy bag) and Vicodin, needing me to switch out his ice packs ever hour and open all his beverages (nonalcoholic. For him.) All this in between making Halloween crafts and playing Barbies with R, loads of laundry and climbing up on a ladder to kill wasps that are starting to build a nest in our bathroom window.

I’ll almost be glad to go back to work. Almost.

This entry was posted in I'm a daughter, I'm a freak, I'm a mommy, I'm a wife. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3-2-1 Blastoff!

  1. Colleen says:

    Glad you vacation went well…but Jeez, sounds to me like you need another one! At least you need to go get yourself a stiff drink! 🙂

  2. Mar says:

    Welcome back! Glad R had fun. Hope Dave feels better soon

Leave a Reply

