Here’s to sixty more

“Shared joy is double joy. Shared sorrow is half sorrow.”

                                                          -Swedish proverb

Six years ago, I walked down a 110-yard aisle at Allerton Park in Monticello, Illinois and married the man I knew would be my partner for life. Since 2002, we’ve been through a lot – unemployment, deaths in our families, moving, job changes, becoming parents.

I wouldn’t change it.

We look so young. We have no idea. We have a vague notion that it will be hard, that sometimes difficult, painful decisions will have to be made, that every day won’t be like this one. But we also know that we are in it to win it – that this is it for us, we’re all in.

We’ve had so many good days. And some difficult ones, too. But having him with me every day has made all the difference.

 

I thought I hit publish on this last night. Guess I was wrong. So the Big Day was actually yesterday and I am lame.

This entry was posted in I'm a wife. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here’s to sixty more

  1. suze says:

    Congratulations on six years (plus a day).

  2. Victoria says:

    The two of you are beautiful together. Congratulations and good luck!

  3. Mar says:

    Happy Anniversary!!

  4. Christina says:

    Happy Anniversary! To 60 more indeed.

  5. Mandy says:

    Aw! Happy (late) Anniversary! You’re right. We have no idea when we’re so young and fresh. 🙂 But we live and we learn. Lovely pics.

  6. skiplovey says:

    Congrats! What beautiful pictures.

  7. You look gawgeous. Our 5th anniversary is this November and when I look at our wedding pics I’m shocked at how fresh-faced were are as well. Just 1 kid really screws with your youth, doesn’t it? 🙂

  8. Vixen says:

    Congratulations. I am lamer than you because I am really late! What a beautiful couple!

Leave a Reply

