Open letter to Comcast

Dear Comcast,

I used to like you. You’ve provided me with hours of entertainment in front of my television (love the OnDemand!) and my high speed Internet was always reliable. We had some slips, some bumps in the road, but I never contemplated leaving you before. Now, I think we might have to break up. It’s not me, it’s you.

See, a few weeks ago, we switched to your VOiP service, which was great. I was excited! I was moving into the future! We had to change our phone number, which is always a hassle, but I was willing to do it for you and that sexy bundled discount. I even paid our home security fee, required with any change of number and the switch to Internet phone, without complaint. And for the last few weeks, it’s been great. No problems.

Then all of a sudden we have no dial tone yesterday. And my mother-in-law calls us to tell us that someone else is answering our phone number.

So I call you to get to the bottom of it. The local people have no record whatsoever of our ever having telephone service through you. That’s impossible, I say – we’ve had a phone for weeks. We’ve been paying our bill. They give me another number to call. By this time, I am livid.

Something you should know about me, Comcast, is that I hate confrontation. But when I’m jerked around and my phone number is given away, I can be just as irate as the person who lives to call your customer service reps to complain. That is not me. But that is also how I was treated. Maybe I deserved it, because I was angry. But maybe there should be a better explanation then “I don’t know what happened.”

While I am grateful that you got someone out to my house first thing this morning, I am angry that we have to have a new number, which will require more money spent for our home security system, more hassles for the woman you gave our number to and more inconvenience for us as we change our number for the second time in less than a month. This is unacceptable to me.

Also unacceptable to me was your customer service rep’s explanation that “This happens a lot.” That doesn’t make me feel like you are committed to giving me the service that I pay for. It makes me feel like six weeks from now, we may be going through this all over again.

So Comcast, my husband and I will be having a discussion about switching to a different provider for all of the services you currently provide. Thankfully, such a service is available to us.

 I hope you will provide some sort of compensation for the incredible screw up. This isn’t any way to treat a loyal customer.

Sincerely,

One less member of your fan club

This entry was posted in I'm a freak. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Open letter to Comcast

  1. Colleen says:

    Oh crap. Your timing of this post couldn’t have been worse for me.

    I just signed up for the 3 bundle deal with Comcast last week for the new house.

    Please, please, please let that customer service rep be wrong when he said that it “happens a lot”.

  2. Marlee says:

    Go get um girl!! I too hate confrontation but once I get going look out!

  3. Jenna says:

    Oh, how annoying!! I would be livid, too, and normally I don’t get that way. I hope that everything works out for you.

  4. Mandy says:

    I’m so like you about the non-confrontational (but totally will be when backed into a corner) bit.

    And that is why I will forever refer to them as CRAPcast.

  5. Victoria says:

    Comcast does the same thing to people down here, too. I don’t have any suggestions for dealing with them, since we’re with a different company, but I hope you get yours resolved.

  6. Erin says:

    Boo comcast! Let’s get our torches and pitchorks!

    (Truthfully, I’ve never had a problem with them. Knocking on wood. It’s kind of like how people hate AT&T wireless but I don’t have problems with them either. I am so asking for it!)

  7. Oh that is SO BAD! I can’t believe their incompetence, actually I can because I’ve lived here nearly 7 months and they keep telling me that phone service isn’t available in my neighbor (even though my neighbors all have Comcast phone!)

    I hope you’ll actually send this letter. Have you ever heard of the website comcastsucks.com…you can file complaints through them. If you’re on twitter you can “friend” comcast cares” and let ’em have it.

  8. Comcast and Mediacom are in the same league. I hate them both, but I especially hate I don’t have a choice in providers.

  9. Vixen says:

    I just can’t believe they gave the number away and said this happens all the time? I have heard so many stories about these guys. Thank heavens they aren’t around here, cuz if I got stuck with them there is no telling what would happen.

  10. Comcastic can be so …. craptastic. We have it for internet and I swear…. Well, never mind. ((hug)) so sorry. I hope it gets better.

  11. Vixen says:

    Where are you? Did Comcast kidnap you?

Leave a Reply

