Even the bottled water is called “quench”

So I’m in San Diego, and I’ve never been here before. And I’m about to expose you Big City Dwellers to my charming Midwestern naivete because MYGAWD this hotel is fancy/trendy/CRAYZEE. We are staying at the W San Diego, which is kind of like having a role as an extra in an episode of Private Practice or Nip/Tuck.

Everything is fancy and modern  and shiny and mostly black and white with pithy little names like “wet” (the pool) or “sweat” (the gym, closed for renovations) or “wired” (business center). Instead of a picture of flowers or some picturesque countryside in my room, there is a chalkboard. Should I leave a nice note for housekeeping? The elevators have actual real floormats that have to be physically changed according to the time of day. Right now, they say “Good evening.”

I have a down pillow shaped like a beachball in my room and am currently playing my ipod through the state-of-the-art system that is ipod compatible. Each room has a dvd player and small dvd library, with rentals available upon request. There is 24-hour room service (which provided me with a Kobe beef cheeseburger at midnight this morning), and I was a little self-conscious taking a shower because the door only goes halfway across the shower… and it’s clear glass. The girl who checked me in was wearing a half-shirt.

Everyone who works here is constantly saying things like “everyone at the W is a VIP” and “whatever/whenever!” Seriously. The customer service is phenomenal. PHENOMENAL, I SAY.

The hotel bar, from whence I just arrived, is called beach (lower case) and purports to have heated sand. I stepped in the sand and inquired Jeremy the bartender about its temperature. He exposed the hotel managers for the lying bastards they are, telling me that the sand was only heated for the first two weeks the hotel was open, and then they turned it off because it was crazy expensive and kept shorting out the power to the kitchen. HA!

So Jeremy supplied me with my second rather-large pomegranate martini (expense account! which also paid for my split of champagne at dinner!) to carry up to my lovely room with the view of the harbor, and here I am, missing R and Dave and wanting to go home. As always on these trips.

This was the first trip that R truly understood that I was going away. She begged me not to get on the airplane. She didn’t want me to go “play with Diego” (San Diego). She wanted me to stay there and eat hot dogs and play with her new Barbie horsie with her.

But she’s doing great with her dad. It’s great that they have this time together. And good that I have a chance to get away, too, I guess. But there’s only so much loneliness that champagne, a Padres game and two pomegranate martinis can take care of. Even if I do get to listen to my ipod in my hotel room.

This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a mommy, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Even the bottled water is called “quench”

  1. vixensden says:

    Email me RIGHT NOW. I would love to meet you for a drink. I can’t believe you didn’t tell me you were coming!!!!!

  2. Erin says:

    “Play with Diego”! I love it!

    Hey, at least if you have to be away from home, you can do it in a fancy hotel with pomegranate martinis. Have you noticed how pomegranate is everywhere now? Kind of like chipotle was recently, or sun-dried tomatoes back in the day…

  3. Colleen says:

    I’ve only been to San Diego once, but I loved it. What’s not to love? I’d really like to live there is: 1) I wasn’t too chicken-sh*t to live THAT far from family and 2) I was cool enough. I’m SO not cool enough to live in San Diego. I don’t speak the language and I’m too cheap to pay the prices they expect residents to pay for things out there. It sure was a great place to visit though. One of the few places that I’ve been that I’d actually pay to go back to. Have fun while you are there!

  4. Christina says:

    Yeah- play with Diego is the cutest thing I will hear today! Aside from the squeal that just came from my baby monitor…
    Umm- you are in a DREAM LAND Mommy! Try, try, try to enjoy it as much as you can. I know you miss the family but my word, I would give my fertility to have a few days like that. Serisouly. How awesome that you are able to have such a great trip for free- Its not uncommon for Motel 6 to be a place where your company puts you up. Drink one for me?

  5. skiplovey says:

    I love San Diego, it’s so laid back. So jealous you’re at the W, that’s place rules. I miss expense accounts (but I certainly don’t miss traveling for work.

    Play with Diego, hilarious. Little kid logic is the best.

  6. Jenna says:

    Love your wrap up of the W. I’m from SD, and have since moved, but I never experienced that hotel. Next time I’m down there, I plan to go for sure. Expense accounts rock, being away from home doesn’t.

  7. Mar says:

    Sounds wonderful… , but I understand the missing the kiddo. Try to enjoy yourself, you deserve a bit of you time.

  8. Mandy says:

    Aw, what a great post!
    I would be equally as impressed as you are with all those amenities! (Sounds like the one we stayed at for our little weekend trip the other weekend. I was so amazed at everything, and I kept thinking , “Man, I’m a country bumpkin for being impressed at the PLATES at the continental breakfast!”)
    Enjoy your trip – and your expense account. 🙂
    Anticipation of homecomings are always bittersweet.
    Take care, and have a fabulous flight home!

  9. Sounds very fun. I know how you hate these trips away – but yippee for a few perks! 🙂

  10. Hey, any chance you can squeeze me in your suitcase next time you go?

  11. rimarama says:

    That sounds awesome! I only ever got to stay at the Courtyard Marriott whenever I traveled with bidness. Hello, continental breakfast bar!

Leave a Reply

