that’s the ticket

So I had planned some sort of inspiring, awesome post about how great it is that my primary vote finally counts for something and I waited in line for 40 minutes to fill out my ballot but that’s okay because democracy rocks and all sorts of power-to-the-people stuff. You know, something like what Frema wrote.

But then my candidate did not win my state, and some of the luster just rubbed right off Election Day.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not sour grapes (okay, maybe a little bit – I haven’t picked a winner in a presidential election since 1996), and I know my little state’s results don’t mean a whole lot empirically. Especially in a world of delegates and, what’s this now, SUPER delegates? And you say they’ve been around since the Eighties? REALLY?

It did feel good to wait in line to vote. Normally, when I go vote before work I’m in and out in less than five minutes. And to have to wait, at 6:15 a.m., for the privilege to cast my ballot, was actually kind of cool. I waited in the gymnasium of an elementary school with a factory worker, a CPA, a stay-at-home-mom, a student and two school teachers. No one complained about waiting. We all commented on the abnormally long lines.

In graduate school, when I was young and idealistic and even more passionate about exercising my civic duty, I wrote my master’s thesis on increasing voter turnout. I rhapsodized about the virtues of mail-in voting (with Oregon as a model) and the future of possibly voting on the Internet. I guess what it really takes to get people out to the polls is a candidate they believe in. Why can’t we have that come around more often?

This entry was posted in I'm a freak. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to that’s the ticket

  1. Vixen says:

    Good for you! I certainly haven’t felt this strongly about any candidates in a long, long time. After all these years, I was thinking there may be another candidate out there the I cared for or believed in.

    I can’t wait to see how the actual presidential election goes down.

  2. Vixen says:

    That up there? Should say …..”there may never be another candidate…”

  3. There used to be a time when voting was a day off work. You would ponder your ballet, speak with your friends, then off to vote. Before we look at candidates, we have to notice this simple fact: voting is low priority to companies, society and in turn people simply cannot afford to take the time off.

    The finger gets pointed at the voter. But how far uphill do you really have to climb before it’s not just the voter?

  4. Victoria says:

    I agree with Claudia up there. And I’m so proud of you for going and voting! Did R go with you?

  5. Frema says:

    I, too, was disappointed. But I think it will be OK in the end.

  6. Oh, but it still counted! It still mattered because of the crazy way delegates are divided in the Dem party. And 1 million MORE people than in the last presidential election voted in Indiana this week. That is inspiring.

    My solution is this: all primaries are held on the same f’ing day, just like the general election. This way–gasp!–everyone’s vote counts the same. Like, democratically or something. ;P

  7. Christina says:

    I was so excited to be moving to OH where in past years this state had sealed it. Of course we know that wasnt the case this time, but, I am still glad I went. It is still exciting to see so many people getting into it , FINALLY!
    Although, Nate and I went to Target right after we voted and I only saw two other “I voted” stickers.

  8. skiplovey says:

    Yeah it sure is a crazy system but glad that you did your part and voted. It’s pretty easy to start feeling discouraged about things and not want to bother with voting but it’s so important that everyone gets involved.

Leave a Reply

