Girls weekend

Dave took off for a bachelor party this weekend, leaving R and I to fend for ourselves, and I have to say, I was looking forward to it more than a little bit. And circumstances did not disappoint.

First, we spent some time at the library Saturday morning. R was enthralled, just overwhelmed by the sheer number of books. She climbed up and down off benches, picking books off the shelves, looking through them, ‘reading’ them to me, putting them back and picking more. I chose four for her to take home (which she now refers to as “mines books”), including Guess How Much I Love You. Now she runs around saying, “Mommy, I love you this much!” and I can’t think of a better outcome from a trip to the library.

When she woke up from her nap (and to a 20-degree temperature drop and suddenly cloudy skies), I packed her up to go downtown to see Whales and Dolphins 3D at our IMAX theater. While the 3D glasses didn’t last very long, the novelty of wearing glasses “like Mommy” and munching on popcorn “in the dark” helped keep her behavior under control for awhile. And, she pointed out gravely, as we watched a fin whale move toward us in the darkness, “Whales eat my popcorn, NO.”

We ordered pizza and consumed it on her princess table whilst watching Dumbo, then she sang “Happy Birthday” to her great grandma to be captured on video and emailed. She went to bed tired and happy, and woke up at 7 a.m. ready to go again. We had a nice breakfast of pancakes and bacon then went grocery shopping together.

After her nap, I let her paint with her new easel outside on the back deck. She was lovely and priceless. When her daddy got home, they snuggled together in his recliner watching Dora the Explorer. It’s times like these that I want to remember – nothing special, nothing exciting, just the pure joy of discovering the world with a toddler and sharing it with my husband.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy, I'm a wife. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Girls weekend

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sounds absolutely perfect!

  2. Victoria says:

    It sounds like you had an amazing time! Maybe you should send the hubby off more often.

  3. How wonderful! Good for you for making the most of what many women would complain about. Hurray for R.., and you. She’s lucky to have you.

  4. I have a friend who’s daughter says “I love you more than heads on necks.”
    I love it.

  5. There are some mometnts that can only happen when you have just one child (or are left alone with one) and they are priceless! Sounds like you guys made some memories. 🙂

  6. Erin says:

    This sounds just so wonderful. I love your kid. I want one for me!

  7. Jenn says:

    I have a toddler too. Times like those make me think, I’m going through the best time of my life.

    Jenn

  8. Jenna says:

    Sounds wonderful! I love spending one on one time with my kids, and I often look forward to the husband going away and having them to myself. For some reason, it seems so special, even if you do the normalist of activities.

  9. Mandy says:

    What a sweet time you two shared. I absolutely love those moments, and sadly they are so few and far between around here. 😦
    That’s neat that you have this post to look back on and cherish.
    By the way, how WAS that 3D thing? I’ve debated about taking the girls there. Was it worth it? Just curious. I think I would enjoy it.
    “Whales eat my popcorn, NO.” ha ha ha ha! Too cute.

Leave a Reply

