jaws

I saw the number on my office phone’s caller ID and wondered who it was. People (besides my husband) rarely call me from local numbers.

I picked up with my usual, “Good afternoon, this is Michelle.” And the voice on the other line was calm and reassuring, even as she said, “Michelle, this is (R’s day care).”

Now that’s a call a working mom never wants to get. It either means your child is very ill or has done something very wrong. I had been standing up, on my way to the bathroom if you must know, and I slowly sank into my new and much-less-comfortable office chair.

“Hi,” I said quietly, wondering what it could be.

“We wanted to call you because R was bitten by another child, and it’s our policy to call when that happens,” the motherly voice said. She even apologized.

Apparently, the bite is pretty bad, it broke the skin and there is significant swelling and bruising involved. They had iced the wound and R was napping with the rest of her class. She hadn’t done anything to earn the bite, hadn’t retaliated and was just “in the wrong place at the wrong time.” Again, they were so, so sorry.

Now, these things happen. I know that. It’s just … I wrote last week about R’s adjustment to the new school, how I’m worried about how it’s going. Then, last night, one of the other little girls hugged R tightly when we were leaving, shouting, “See you tomorrow, R!” and I thought we had turned a corner. Now I’m back to wondering if she’s not fitting in (in addition to worrying about her owie).

Last night, as we snuggled before she went to bed, she began asking me about her friend A from her old babysitter’s house. Instead of avoiding the subject, we talked about A for awhile. I’ve got a couple of days off next week, and I’d like to take R over to see her old sitter and old friends. But I wonder if that would just confuse her. Or be overwhelming for the old sitter (I would stay there the whole time, of course)…

Anyway. Three more hours til I can retrieve my injured baby…

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to jaws

  1. Sarah says:

    Oh no. {{hugs}} for both of you gals.

  2. Christina says:

    UGH that is the worst feeling and to not be able to go right away to hug and kiss. That part I hate! She will be a-okay!

  3. SadieCass says:

    Oh no!! A phone call no mother wants to get!!! I hope she heals quickly!! I’ll be thinking of you both!!

  4. derekandmandy says:

    Poor baby!!!
    I remember getting a very similar call like that when I was teaching….no, it’s not fun playing the waiting game. Especially when you know that your baby is/was in pain. 😦
    I’m sure she’ll be ok, but still….poor baby!!!!

  5. Victoria says:

    Oh no! What did they do about the other child? Are you going to take her to the doctor with it? I hope she feels better soon and that it doesn’t hurt too much. And I hope you are able to cope. I’m so sorry you had that phone call today and I can only imagine how scary it musta been.

  6. ellinghouse says:

    When my daughter was in daycare, she got bit multiple time and the way I found out was when I undressed her and saw the teeth marks on her legs…..nice huh? At least your caregivers were aware enough to catch it and let you know. it stinks I know!

  7. Erin says:

    Oh! Not fun! Bites are the worst! Is her tetanus up to date? (now I sound like my school nurse!) I hope you are both feeling better soon!

  8. skiplovey says:

    Aww poor R, that is so terrible. Give her a big hug and a kiss for me, on top of the million kisses you’re going to give her anyway. Hope the bite heals soon. What rotten luck to be on the receiving end of a nasty bite.

  9. Indygirl says:

    Oh that’s so hard. I remember getting calls like that. I hope they called the OTHER child’s parent too. I hope she’s recovers quickly.

  10. We’ve had the same experience as Ellinghouse at daycare: Pitter has been bitten multiple times on several occasions…on the back, on the face…sometimes in places the teachers don’t even see. It’s heartbreaking. I’ve been happy to know that he didn’t and hasn’t retalilated.
    If it happens again, I would sit down with the director and ask what precautions are being made to keep your daughter safe, and to safely (and fairly) teach the biter to stop. Make sure they’re on their game and that you are on top of THEM.
    Good luck!

  11. malinthemiddle says:

    I am so sorry. I had the child who DID the biting. It was awful. He actually got kicked out of preschool for it, lol. I still feel bad about it, and he is 13 now. (He hasn’t bit anyone since last week, I swear.)

Leave a Reply

