Painting the town and such

This weekend, I did something unprecedented. I went out. Without my child. Both nights. Even more unprecedented: I went out without my husband.

]On Saturday night, I met all of these classy ladies of Indy (ish) for dinner and what turned (devolved?)  into a game of bowling complete with fashionable neon shoes and kiddie bumpers on the lanes.

I am so totally out of shape (see, bowling IS a sport) that after scarfing down a burger, fries and two lemon martinis, I actually strained a muscle in my forearm whilst tossing a ten-pound ball down a lacquered wooden floor. So, so sad.

But the best part was I felt like I was getting some of me back – not R’s mommy, not Dave’s wife, not “job title here.” Michelle is still in there somewhere! And she can laugh! And talk with other women! And stay out past 10 p.m.!

Who would have thought?

This entry was posted in I'm a freak. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Painting the town and such

  1. Sarah says:

    Me. I’d have thought.

    And I’m so glad you found you! 🙂

  2. Josh says:

    YOU GO GIRL

  3. Jennifer says:

    Amen to still being you! I felt the same way. It was great meeting you, I hope we’ll get together again (or maybe even hit the minor league baseball scene.) THAT would be crazy.

    Go Cards!

  4. I was rolling over last night and though “Huh, I’m sore. Wonder why?”
    And then it occurred to me.
    I’M GETTING OLD.

  5. derekandmandy says:

    You rocked the neon shoes, and you were a blast to hang out with!!
    Yea for the Indy (ish-tee hee!) bloggy meet-up!!!!
    Let’s do it again soon!

  6. Why am I the “ish”???

  7. SadieCass says:

    Hey, I pulled a butt muscle!! Yeah…SAHM’s are so sadly out of shape (well, THIS one is *lol*)!!! But I get what you mean…the “getting myself back” part of it. It feels good!!

  8. Erin says:

    Woo hoo! I’m glad you had fun.

    and you are now so infinitely cool in my mind, having met up with bloggers in real life! 🙂

  9. Frema says:

    It was so great to meet you. I wish we could’ve spent more time actually hanging out!

  10. Victoria says:

    Congrats! I’m so glad you got to have some fun. Keep it up! It’s good for a girl to get out on her own once in a while.

  11. Christina says:

    Gosh! Who knew Indy was a hub of bloggy cool’ness! Im glad you had fun, even if I am a little green.

Leave a Reply

