late socialization

I went out on a date last night. With my husband.

It was awesome.

We saw a movie, but the movie wasn’t the awesome part. The last time I set foot in a movie theater was December 27, 2005. In less than 12 hours, I would give birth to my first (and so far only) child. We saw “Rumor Has It” which was frankly, not a very good movie. We decided to continue our streak last night with “Vantage Point” which, while starring the uber-talented Forrest Whitaker, was decidedly gimmicky and tiresome.

But I remembered how much I love the movie theater. The darkness, the smell of greasy popcorn, the taste of the icy Diet Coke, the snuggling with my sweetie during the scary parts. Afterward, at dinner, we talked about grown-up things and drank grown-up drinks and generally had a fantastic time getting re-acquainted without a two-year-old clamoring for attention.

R’s new day care, conveniently, hosts a Parents Night Out once a month, during which they stay open for signed-up children until midnight. When we arrived to pick her up, she was lounging on her sleeping bag watching The Jungle Book, her eyes barely open. She was happy to see us.

Living far away from any family and being an overprotective parent who doesn’t trust her child with just anyone, it’s been a long, long time since Dave and I were able to go out and enjoy each other’s company without needing to care for R. It was really refreshing. And as  much as I hate to leave R, as guilty as I feel, I’m already looking forward to next month.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy, I'm a wife. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to late socialization

  1. That’s an incredible day care center. And I too love the movies.

  2. Erin says:

    I can’t believe it’s been that long since you guys have been to the movies! I love going to the movies…although we’re so cheap that we rarely go anymore.

    Your daycare is awesome!

  3. Hurray!! Dates are so crucial. We try to do it once a week – because our lives are just so full – even without kids! R’s new day care seems really wonderful. I bet you are glad you transitioned there!

    Yea!!

  4. Victoria says:

    Welcome to Date Night! I’m glad you guys are finally able to get out without R for a bit. As great as kids are it’s also great to get time away. It’s good for you guys and for R too.

  5. rimarama says:

    Don’t feel guilty! Your date night was loooooong overdue. It’s good for R to have parents who have a good relationship and take the time to foster it.

  6. As soon as I find a local babysitter, I promise I will share her with you guys!

    We saw “Inside Man” while I was in early labor with Pitter. We thought the title was fitting. (hee hee)
    I think it was over a year later before I saw anything else in the theatre!

  7. Mar says:

    Glad to hear you had a great time. Don’t feel guilty, its good for all of you to get out!!

  8. Pingback: day care love song « Lede Me On

Leave a Reply

