bye-bye baby

I never really appreciated them until they were gone. And they are gone, just like that, up and gone. And I miss them more than I thought I would.

R says “thank you” instead of “dee dee” and “blanket” instead of “beeuh.”

For months, she has used her own pronunciation for these words. We knew what she meant and reacted accordingly. And now, she enunciates the actual phrases as succinctly as if she were 20 instead of 2.

Dave asked me last night when I mentioned it to him if I really thought she would never say “thank you.” No, not never, I said. Just not yet. I couldn’t savor the last little baby-ism before it was gone.

Potty training, preschool and now pronunciation? What’s next? Prom?

As much as she likes to insist that she’s still a baby, I know my little R is becoming a girl. At least I still have “nee-no” (lay down) and “meh” (more).

Check that – I’m down to just ” nee-no.” And only about 50 percent of the time.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to bye-bye baby

  1. Sarah says:

    How incredibly bittersweet.

  2. Christina says:

    Stop it, it hurts! Everyday there is something new and while its amazing, it kills me. Thanks for reminding me to eat it up today, for tomorrow he will be a boy.

  3. Mar says:

    Noodle has always called my dad Boopa, instead of Grandpa. The other day she was trying to get his attention and he must not have heard her and she “Grandpa”, when he turned around I am not sure who was more upset over the fact she didn’t call him Boppa, him or her.

  4. Victoria says:

    Oh gosh, I think I need to go cry! These babies are all growing up so fast! But she’s a bright, beautiful little girl, and I suppose language skills were going to show up sooner or later. I just hope she becomes well-spoken, instead of talking the gibberish so many kids today speak. How are you guys coming on reading?

  5. vixensden says:

    The growing up part is always the hardest. But thanks for reminding me to be sure and enjoy my little ones while they are little still. Although Butterball crawled the other day and sits up alone. Ladybug’s usual night time litany of “Oh ees dawk, light on?” suddenly became “Oh, it is dark in here. Think I will turn the light on”! I thought her parents were going to have a coronary.

Leave a Reply

