ready… FREAK OUT

It’s almost comical, how I freak out about things that eventually turn out to be okay. If I would just relax a little bit, not be so high strung and prone to emotional fits, my life would be a lot easier.

I dreaded telling our babysitter that R would be moving to preschool in two weeks. I even started crying as I was telling her. And she was totally fine. She asked when, where and offered to be an emergency contact for us. She said it was a good thing, and could I please talk to one of her other parents who is threatening to leave her daughter there until she’s five.

It was a huge relief. And then, when I asked R on the way home if she wanted to go to school soon, she said, “Okay” and began talking about the time she went to our babysitter’s daughter’s school to see her in a play. We drove by R’s new school, and she was upset that we couldn’t go in immediately.

Now that doesn’t mean the entire transition will be smooth, but it’s a good start. And I go to Savannah on Monday, so Dave is taking the day off and he and R will spend a few hours at her new school. And I’ll probably take a few hours off the week after to do the same. So we’ll try to make the change as easy as we can for her.

But thanks, all of you, for the collective head-pat and consoling words. They helped SO MUCH.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ready… FREAK OUT

  1. Erin says:

    Yay! I’m so glad that things are starting out smoothly!

    I’m always sad when my kids leave me, but I also know that they often leave because it’s what is best for them. I’m sure your babysitter feels the same way.

  2. malinthemiddle says:

    I predict that R is going to LOVE preschool! It doesn’t surprise me that someone who cares about her would be happy for her.

  3. You’re doing great! There are few things more important than teaching your child that transitions are a part of life. Imagine how much easier your life would be if you learned that you could be safe through each transition. Now’s your chance to teach R. Yea!

    As always, you do everything with such grace. R remains a very lucky girl.

  4. Victoria says:

    She’s going to have so much fun. And I think after a week or two of watching her come home happy, you’ll relax a lot more too.

Leave a Reply

