The universe hates me

Why is it that at the end of a particularly trying week-long business trip, when you and everyone you work with are all cranky and tired and just want to get the hell home already, everything that possibly could go wrong does?

And why do I have a tendency to exaggerate when things don’t go my way?

So we’re on the bus home (yes, our cheap-ass environmentally friendly company made 400 people take chartered buses to Nashville, not even allowing us to drive ourselves unless circumstances were dire), about 125 miles north of Nashville on I-65 when it comes to our driver’s attention that we are leaking GASOLINE all over the road. So we have to pull over at a truck stop (exit 105). The bus driver hops out with a single paper towel to inspect the situation.

I, of course, burst into tears as though I were the only person on the 60-passenger bus who really really wanted to get home. Don’t you people know I’ve been counting COTTON BALLS for God’s sake? Long story short, we ended up winding through some residential neighborhoods outside Louisville, spewing gas the entire way, to get to a repair shop and, ostensibly, another bus to get on. Eventually we make it on another bus and are back on the road.

We got home 2.5 hours late, obliterating the lovely afternoon I had planned for R and I. Not that it would have mattered because she has a runny nose, sore throat and cough.

But we got to snuggle on the couch last night. Like the Grinch, my heart grew three sizes.

This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a mommy, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The universe hates me

  1. I bet she was SO happy to see you. And a bus? Not cool.

  2. Yeah! You’re finally home! I bet R was so very delighted. Oh – I just love that first moment back in my own bed … ahhhh.

  3. Erin says:

    A bus? That sucks to begin with! I’m sorry you had such a crappy trip home…but yay for being home at last! 🙂

  4. mogosmom says:

    Cheapo Bastages… I mean really, a BUS???? You have got to be kidding me

  5. Mar says:

    I am sure in R’s eyes it was like you were never gone!! Yippee for cuddling on the couch.

  6. vixensden says:

    Bad, bad bus. Making you late. Hip, hip hooray for being home and growing heart sizes!

  7. Pingback: Awesome, with caveats « Lede Me On

Leave a Reply

