Grand ole Opry

I’m still in Nashville and I’m starting to get cranky. But at least the pile of cotton balls I use to apply my toner every morning and every night has diminished to just a quartet of white puffs on the bathroom vanity.

It’s Sunday morning. At home, we would be lazing about in our pajamas until 8 or so, eating a big breakfast of pancakes or French toast or egg sandwiches. Maybe waffles, if I were feeling ambitious. We’d start getting ready for church by 8:30, trading off showers and the toddler rodeo.

Instead I’m in Tennessee Ballroom A-B at the Gaylord Opryland and the air smells like natural gas because of the fuel keeping chafing dishes of dried-out scrambled eggs and greasy chicken apple sausage warm. And, as at all conferences, it’s freezing in here.

I haven’t ordered room service once. I’m averaging 5 hours of sleep a night. The work days are brutal. I’m so glad I brought the new philosophy eye cream that Erin got for me, because even if it doesn’t work, it makes me feel like maybe the bags are a little smaller and the circles a little lighter.

At least it’s almost over. Even cranky, I’m trying to look on the bright side. For some reason, this year is a lot tougher than last year. R is able to talk on the phone for short spurts, to tell me that she’s watching Dora or eating Cheetos or played with Maggie. Or that it’s 1 a.m. and she sleeping on my pillow in bed with Daddy.  

And I can’t decide if that’s worse or not – if it makes me miss her more. I just know that it’s starting to ache. And all the offhand “love you mommy”s prompted by her daddy can’t make up for the hugs and the kisses I’m missing. And craving. Sometimes this just sucks.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Grand ole Opry

  1. Erin says:

    I’m sorry you are still in Nashville! Not fun!

    In high school, we went to Nashville with my orchestra. I broke my favorite pair of heels at the Grand Ole Opry. It was sad.

  2. vixensden says:

    Awww, its so hard to miss out on those. I start to cry a little inside after 5 days straight of no Ladybug hugs. But when she calls me and says “Hi Grama. I miss you” I kinda die a tiny death. Then it’s Saturday and she runs from the car, leaps into my arms, wraps her arms around my neck and squeezes and life is good again.

    Oh and welcome to the wordpress world!!! Now your comments won’t get stuck in my spam filter!!

  3. I’m sorry darling! You’ll be home in no time.

  4. Sarah says:

    {{hugs}}

    You will be home before you know it. And boy, won’t it feel like a million bucks?

    (Distraction alert!) Don’t you LOVE Philosophy’s products? I live in their face line. If you love their eye cream, try the “When Hope is Not Enough” serum.. TOTALLY worth the price (and it lasts FOREVER).

  5. rimarama says:

    Yes, this post conjured up some business-related conference memories I had long since buried. The cold conference rooms, the scrambled eggs in chafing dishes, yup. I feel for ya. Good thing you at least have good beauty products at your disposal!

  6. Victoria says:

    *hugs* You’ll be home soon, and it will be so wonderful! Just hang in there.

  7. marmagoo says:

    Hope you make it home soon. Welcome to your new digs!!

  8. skiplovey says:

    Wow that sounds rough. Hope you’ll be back home soon. And yeah, hotel living gets life gets old pretty quick. Even with the maid and room service.

  9. Heya! Welcome to WordPress. I really like it. Plus there are so many widgets and plug-ins -very cool.

    I think it’s good for her to have a little alone time with Dad. You could think of it as you doing her a favor. They can develop a rhythm without you around. It’s really good stuff – but I know you miss her.

    Poor you! You’ll be home soon!

Leave a Reply

