Busy making merry

Here I am!

I feel selfish for having taken the last two weeks (plus) and done NOTHING but be with Miss R and her father and our various families. Vixen called me on it, I apologize! I’m still alive. And I’m now the mother of a two-year-old. R turned two last Friday (the 28th), and I’m busy planning a Dora the Explorer birthday party for Saturday. She picked the theme.

And we had a wonderful holiday. R learned to “jump on bed” and that things occasionally “blow my mind.” She speaks in full (if not complete) sentences – she just misses an article or a pronoun here and there. I’m astonished at how many new words she can learn in a week, even a day.

Skiplovey is right – having Christmas with a kid is way better than any other Christmas I’ve ever had. And last year, when R was just turning one, it was cool exposing her to all of the traditions of the season. But this year… THIS YEAR, she UNDERSTANDS. She got to leave cookies for Santa. And she knows that her birthday is very close to Baby Jesus’ birthday, and like her, Baby Jesus has a Mommy and a Daddy.

But Baby Jesus also has a cow, at least in her grandma’s nativity scene. And that makes Baby Jesus super cool. When we were in Christmas Eve services with my Dad, R was busy turning somersaults on the floor and being held by her Papa during Pastor Mel’s sermon. He happened to mention Baby Jesus, at which point R perked up and said loudly, “Baby Jesus! Baby Jesus!” to the delight of the congregation.

And the presents, oh the presents. With birthday and Christmas mushed together and divorced grandparents on both sides, Miss R got presents every day for 8 days. Santa brought her a kitchen set and a Dora ATV (Santa had his eye on that a good two weeks before Miss R became obsessed with our exploring cartoon friend).

She also got a school bus tent and an art set and a radio flyer red wagon. For her birthday she got a tricycle.

So she’s basically spoiled, and I’m spoiled now because I got 12 days with her. I went back to work yesterday, and as I went in to kiss her goodbye, she whispered, “Lay down, Mommy” and it about broke my heart to tell her I couldn’t. And now, next Wednesday, I have to leave for my annual week-long business trip. And that totally blows. I can’t decide if it’s better to have had all that time together and then have to go away or if I would prefer to just leave in the middle of fall or something, when it would be just routine.

Anyway, sorry for rambling. I haven’t abandoned the blog. Just took a little break. I’ll try not to let it happen again. But January 9-15, I can’t make any promises!

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Busy making merry

  1. Vixen says:

    No worries about being gone…being the mother of a two year old would already be enough, but add in Christmas and whew! I was just teasing you because I was jealous you got two weeks off.

    Sounds like your time with R was very wonderful. Too bad you had to go back to work.

  2. noodle says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday! And Happy Birthday to R!

  3. Marlee says:

    Welcome back! Glad to hear you had a great time off!!

  4. skiplovey says:

    Glad you’re back and had a great Christmas. I agree, I think next year for Nate will be even more fun than this year.
    Consolation for business trip… room service!!

  5. Happy belated birthday, R. And no worries about the blog vacation (blogation, perhaps?). Everyone deserves a breather now and again.

Leave a Reply

