See Santa! NO SANTA!

What a delightful weekend. I hope the next time I am facing the billionth tantrum over a refused request or wondering how many times she can want me to draw a circle, I remember the last two days and how awesome it can be to parent a toddler.

I think the best thing about being R’s mom is that I get to experience everything over again, for the first time. Everything is new. She’s never seen Santa Claus before. She’s never been on a “choo-choo” ride before. She’s never touched a shark before. And because of that, because of her wonder and joy and exuberance, I get to feel that way too.

Because my workplace is a corporate friend and I eat lunch at my desk and could therefore be the first person to respond to the e-mail offering one free pass, we got to wake R up early Saturday morning and be at the Children’s Museum two hours before opening for breakfast, pictures with Santa, free carousel rides and unlimited trips down the “Yule Slide.” The biggest bonus? No crowds.

We got home in time for her to take a 3 ½ hour nap, waking up only to go to Christmas at the Zoo, where she pet a baby shark, rode a “choo-choo” and another carousel, ate chicken fingers and Cheetos and called various animals, including reindeer and yaks, “cows.” She spent the whole ride home chatting about her choo-choo ride and the Christmas lights and the cows.

Sunday morning was the children’s program at our church. Standing proudly on my lap in the very back row, R proudly called out that she saw a cow, which says Moo! Then she saw a Baby! Baby JESUS! The woman in front of us could barely contain her guffaws. When R asked the pastor after service where the Baby Jesus went, he told her that the baby was sleeping. Shhhhhh, she said, Shhhh.

Of course, she refused to have her picture taken with Santa.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to See Santa! NO SANTA!

  1. Marlee says:

    Yeah for a good weekend!!

  2. Sounds so sweet. I imagine those are the weekends that cause the rest of us to think having a baby is a splendid idea.

  3. mommymartin says:

    Sounds like you had a great weekend! Maybe she’ll take her picture with Santa next year, when she’s a little older–lots of little kids are afraid of Santa.

  4. Vixen says:

    That all sounds so wonderful. I do love seeing everything like new through Ladybug’s eyes.

  5. Erin says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I can’t believe how big she is getting…it is so cool to hear about all the fun times she has with you! 🙂

  6. Christina says:

    Love it! You make me so excited for my life.
    Thanks for that.

  7. rimarama says:

    She sounds so, so cute! I love the image of her in church (talking pretty loudly, I assume?) And I know what you mean about seeing the world through their eyes – it make you appreciate every little thing.

Leave a Reply

