The future, it is now

Not long after R. was born, someone took a picture of her, lying on my chest in the hospital, breastfeeding. I had one arm cradling her, and my other hand was resting near her face, in perfect view of the camera. The first thought that came to my head was, “my God, I have my mother’s hands.” 

It turns out, that’s not all my parents passed down to me. I find R’s full name (Mom loved to middle-name us) coming out of my mouth all the time. I find myself instituting rules because that was what my parents did. And honestly, I’m not too upset about the whole thing. I actually look forward to the day I can say “Because I said so.” Be afraid, R., be very afraid. 

I had a great childhood. I have wonderful memories of summer evenings playing wiffleball in the driveway, winter sledding trips to Philips Park and building leaf houses in the fall. I was raised with appropriate amounts of fear, love and respect for my parents – fear of disappointing them and a respect for their authority. They had high expectations, and I wanted nothing more in life than to fulfill them. 

We didn’t talk about politics and we never discussed major social issues like race or gender – we were left to form our own opinions on those subjects, based on the values they taught us. It was assumed we would go to college. So while a lot of people swear to God they will never become their parents (including me in my diary 18 years ago), I think that if I were as great at being a parent as my mom and dad were, R. will be in pretty good shape. 

Because I said so. 

This is in response to a writing challenge posted on The Mom’s Daily Dose Secret Awesome Group of Awesome Blogging Power posted by Jessica.

This entry was posted in I'm a daughter, I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The future, it is now

  1. This is beautiful. And unfortunately rare.

  2. YAY! Angel face has an initial! She’s so beautiful she deserves an initial! 🙂 Great post!

  3. Vixen says:

    What a wonderful post. Your parents must be very proud to have raised such a well-balanced, loving, caring person. I am sure you will do the same with R.

  4. Colleen says:

    Sounds good….but the true test of how good our parenting skills are will be whether they make the RIGHT choice in deciding which college to attend. Amongst all these IU Hoosiers, there are going to be lots of bad influences suggesting they go to Bloomington. Now wouldn’t that be a pity?

    Quite frankly, I’m sad just thinking about it right now.

    I better start scheming to move back to IL sometime in the next 16 years….

  5. noodle says:

    That was a beautiful post. I know when I have children, I’ll probably worry that I won’t be as good a parent as mine were. Your daughter is lucky.

Leave a Reply

