In her shoes

I think I’m raising a shoe addict, which is weird. I own two pairs of shoes per season (one brown, one black) and finally replaced my tennis shoes with a pair that actually fits after suffering for nearly two years with burning foot pain.

This weekend, as we were prepping for church on Sunday, I decided that it was officially too chilly for sandals, and we must graduate to the shiny black patent leather Mary Janes that were a hand-me-down from the daughter of a close friend. Showing them to R. was a mistake, because she immediately demanded to wear them – even though she was still in her jammies and I wasn’t dressing her for at least half an hour (can’t get stains on the church clothes or a run in the tights!).

But I decided that this wasn’t a hill to die on, so I unzipped her footie sleeper, pulled out her little feet and strapped the shoes on. She giggled. Then she guffawed. Then she squealed, flung herself off my lap and went to the parquet floors to try them out. Click click click click click click (brief silence for throw rug) click click click click click (another throw rug) click click click giggle click giggle click. Those were the sounds in our household for the next 15 minutes.

After church, she didn’t want to take the shoes off, especially when she realized that I was going to make her take a nap. A nap without shiny black shoes. But once she woke up, the shoes were forgotten.

This morning, R.’s daddy made a similar mistake. Earlier this year, I purchased a pretty pair of white sneakers with pink embroidered butterflies for R. in a half-size larger than her current size. They were cute and they were $1.50 at Target – how could I resist? Well, Dave thought perhaps she was outgrowing her current tennis shoes and that he would try the new ones to see how they fit. Well, they are too big.

But here is the e-mail I got:

I made the mistake of trying the bigger shoes on her and showing them to her…they were too big but she insisted, loudly, so she’s in big girl shoes today.

I giggled aloud. I remembered when Swistle wrote about Elizabeth’s sudden fetish for pink cowgirl boots, and I wondered what was in my future. Whatever it is, it’s going to be awesome. Because fighting over shoes? Is so not a big deal.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In her shoes

  1. Sarah says:

    And what a bargaining tool! SO much healthier than candy or video games.. promise the child she can wear her butterfly shoes or something and be on your way! 🙂

  2. Vixen says:

    I love that Dad “fought” so hard, lol.

  3. Kellan says:

    “Click click click click click click (brief silence for throw rug) click click click click click (another throw rug) click click click giggle click giggle click. Those were the sounds in our household for the next 15 minutes” – this was so cute – I couldn’t stop giggling! The whole post was precious – see ya.

  4. rimarama says:

    I have a feeling the two of you have lots of mother daughter shopping fun in your future! Girls are awesome in that regard, I must say. Wait till she insists on picking out her own outfits and dressing herself, though. They seem to have a penchant for polka dot/plaid type pairings.

  5. Mallory says:

    Uh-oh– in my experience these shoe fetish things show up early and do not go away. It must skip a generation because I am raising one and am not one myself, either. Better keep finding those awesome deals at Target!

  6. noodle says:

    I’m still trying to get over the fact that you only have two pairs of shoes per season! I’ll volunteer to take her (and Mal’s daughter) shoe shopping.

  7. mommymartin says:

    That’s adorable! Don’t panic though–as a very young child I had a fascination with heels and “big girl shoes” which I promptly outgrew the day I hit puberty. There’s hope for the Little Lady yet.

  8. Marlee says:

    A girl after my own heart.

  9. I think you may be raising my daughter, ha. I’m a shoe ADDICT. And I so hope we one day have a boy.

  10. Swistle says:

    Keep an eye out for the boots to go on clearance. At $3.74 a pair, you can buy a pair in every size.

Leave a Reply

