Rubber Ducky, You’re the One!


We were able to trick-or-treat, which is really the only reason to get out of bed on Halloween, isn’t it? It was touch and go with her exhaustion, malaise and (shocker) crabbiness, but with a diagnosis that fell somewhere between mundane and OMG (and an appointment for more catheters and needles and X-ray machines later this month), we thought she deserved the chance to dress up and get sugar.

And she loved every minute of it, especially the suckers. And I limited myself to just two Reese’s peanut butter cups. Let’s not talk about the eight-pack of Butterfingers that my husband bought me. You don’t need to know about that. And if I don’t tell you, it’s not real, right?

She was a champion trick-or-treater, even if I did have to carry her most of the way. She even said “Thank you” like a big girl, which is more than I can say for most of the ungrateful jackasses that came to our door tonight (especially the group that came AFTER I had turned out the porch light an the scary Halloween lights and put the toddler to sleep, I hope their teeth rot out from the twizzlers).

Another Halloween complaint, and then I’m done for the night – why turn on your porch light if you’re not going to hand out candy? Isn’t that the universal bat signal for trick-or-treaters? At least I thought so…

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rubber Ducky, You’re the One!

  1. Christina says:

    You make bath time so much fun! ha! I will be singing that in the middle of the night now…
    Glad you guys had a good time, I agree some sugar was in order!
    My night wasnt as great as I had hoped, Nathan needed to eat right in the middle of the action so Mike had to man the door:( OH well…. My new mission is to get rid of the 5 lbs of leftover candy!

  2. mommymartin says:

    Glad she felt up to trick-or-treating. Hopefully it lifted her spirits! She was adorable in that picture.

  3. Sarah says:

    Absolutely precious picture!! So we had on our porch light.. no trick or treaters. We even went outside and sat on the swing with a huge bowl of candy. Not a single trick-or-treater. We even had some walk by (on the other side of the street). We finally just gave up.

  4. Vixen says:

    She looks so adorable. I am glad she enjoyed trick or treating.

  5. Jennie says:

    Absolutely a bat signal.

    Why are some people so clueless? (I thought of a LOT of other words to use, but I think clueless is the safest.)

    Oh, your daughter is adorable.

  6. Marlee says:

    A very cute little ducky!

  7. rimarama says:

    Stop quacking me up with the Butterfinger talk. I had to skip lunch today because of all the treats I ate yesterday (And this morning. Yeah.)

    She looks so cute in that outfit! I’m glad she felt well enough to go out on Halloween, and I hope that things only improve from here on out.

  8. Colleen says:

    This year’s Halloween experience just went on to prove my belief that at least 90% of the human population stinks. Doesn’t sound like your Halloween experience would have done much to change my opinion either…

    P.S. Loved the trick-or-treaters running around with two bags too – you know, one for them and one for “so & so at home” or “the baby”. Whatever people!

  9. She is gorgeous. I love the costume. And how delightful that you gave her the opportunity to just be a kid. I hope she is well soon!

Leave a Reply

