Wipe out

I remember the first time I changed a diaper in front of my dad. Maybe it was the first poopie diaper I changed in front of him, but what I know for sure is Angel Face was very small and I was very green.Look at these statistics for proof: 

December 27, 2005 – # of Diapers Michelle has changed: 0 

December 30, 2005 – # of Diapers Michelle has changed: A Lot More Than Zero (see, they don’t let you out of bed for the first 24 hours or so after a C-section, otherwise I would have likely begun changing diapers earlier than two days after birth). 

October 15, 2007 – I prefer not to think about the # of Diapers Michelle has changed. 

Anyhow, I remember changing the diaper and using wipe after wipe after wipe after wipe. Dad didn’t really say anything at first. Then he said something funny, like the wipes I used probably weighed more than Angel Face. And he was right.I’ve learned to use the diaper to clean up residual #2, and, even in really desperate cases, usually can get away with just 2-3 wipes. But mostly it takes just one. And while I’m not using cloth diapers and I bought pre-packaged baby food, I have started to do my one little part for the environment. Take that, landfills! 

This post was brought to you in honor of Blog Action Day. Find out more here. 

This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wipe out

  1. skiplovey says:

    Nice work. It’s good to point out that its all the little things that add up. Or don’t add up as much when you make a little effort.

  2. Will you add your diaper changing skills to your resume? With a little creativity…. “expert at resource management” or “tidy up the nastiest of messes”. Yeah. I think it would work!

  3. rimarama says:

    Yeah, I am guilty of wipe overuse, myself. But you are absolutely right – even in desperate blow-out cases, you could probably get away with just 2 or 3.

    Nice post!

  4. Christina says:

    Im trying not to use many wipes but my word the kid poops constantly so they add up, still trying though.
    I ment to do this action day post myself but dang it, i missed the day! There is no emissions testing here in Ohio and our air quality is piss-poor as a result.

Leave a Reply

