Step away from the keyboard

Vixen tagged me and a few others last week, and I am lazy and don’t like to think hard, which this meme asked us to do. She asked us to “pick three things that enrapture, consume, fascinate, or otherwise enliven you more than blogging. Then write a few lines about each to explain what the nonblog activity does for you, why and how.” The rules:

  • 1. After your intro, copy/paste this line and the rules below it: The originator wants to see how far it goes so please keep his link intact: http://rileycentral.net
  • 2. Encourage people to post with the incentive of a link by including those who have passed it along here: (Your link here and so on . . .)
  • 3. Visit at least 3 on the list who’ve written and passed this meme. Leave them a comment.

Here we go:

Obviously, my family wins hands down. I am enraptured, consumed, fascinated and enlivened by them every day, particularly my enchanting daughter who comes up with gems like “that hurt” when watching Matt Holliday slide into home plate to win the playoff to the playoffs game and spouts the word “poop” at any available opportunity. Also, if you ask her how old she is, she says “two.” Already lying about her age.

Actually, my job enlivens me most days. Some days, I really don’t want to go, but other days I am energized by something as soon as I get to my desk and can sustain that all day long. I really think we are doing good work there, and I think we do change lives. It makes up for all the times I’ve had to sit in meetings in which the phrases “how can we make this look good” or “how do we spin this” have come up. My journalistic ethics may be crumbling, but at least it’s for a good cause.

Finally, I am enraptured by music. Of multiple different genres – everything from hard core rap to cotton candy pop to classic rock to country (and western) to classical to rhythm and blues to jazz. The soundtrack to my life would probably be so eclectic, no one would ever buy it. But my husband and I both have a love for music and we are doing a fairly good job of passing that love down to the next generation. Whether I’m driving, working, playing, cooking, cleaning, reading or lazing about, music always makes it better.  I tag Erin. And any non-pregnant person who feels like doing it. Because I just don’t think it’s right to tag pregnant people.

This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a mommy, I'm a sister, I'm a wife, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Step away from the keyboard

  1. So fun to get a chance to know you better!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow. I am so mesmerized. I’m the same exact way about music. Your statement about your soundtrack being eclectic would apply to me, too. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  3. Music is def a great life enhancer isn’t it? I’m always playing music. I just love it so much. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Vixen says:

    I love music too. It really is a major part of my day every single day. I wish I could sing a note or two though. Thanks for playing. I hope your brain doesn’t hurt too much.

Leave a Reply

