Stop the Abuse


From the original email:

On Thursday, September 27th, post about any abuse topic you care about – child abuse, domestic abuse, animal abuse, drug abuse, emotional abuse, verbal abuse, political abuse – and let the world know you stand united with thousands of bloggers as part of the Bloggers Unite “Blog Against Abuse” campaign. Depending on your topic, you can even link to local, regional, national, or international organizations that you care about or support. Every post will count!

This is very timely. Though it’s not exactly a case of abuse, she was apparently killed by someone who knows her. I’ve written before about my own brush with domestic violence. I never really thought of it as domestic violence while it was going on. That was something that happened to other people. It happened to women who had no sense of self, no education, no self-esteem, no idea that there was any other way. It did not happen to me.

I was wrong. It happened to me. And it could happen to anyone. I thought I had too much respect for myself to ever be in such a situation. Again, I was wrong. It happens so quickly – one moment you are in a new relationship and giddy, a few weeks later you are sobbing in a corner and wondering how it came to this. Or it happens slowly, over time, with name-calling and isolation and then actual physical abuse.

I wish I had known several things before I met him. I wish I had known that I am a likable person, that I don’t need a man to define me and that the world won’t end if I leave. I wish every woman in the world knew that. But for now, I pray for Nailah Franklin’s family, and for the thousands of women out there like her. Like me.

Thanks to Rura and Missa for letting us know about this day. If you need help, please contact the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-7233 or visit this site for more resources.

 

This entry was posted in I'm a daughter, I'm a mommy, I'm a sister, I'm a wife. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stop the Abuse

  1. I think sometimes we are on a crash course for certain people and situations. We’d like to look back and say, “that shouldn’t have happened” but if it didn’t, would you appreciate your hubby as much now?

    I think sometimes you show up in life and other people show up, and the play begins.

Leave a Reply

