wood, clocks or baseball tickets

This weekend, Hubby and I celebrated our fifth wedding anniversary at (where else?) the ballpark. We also celebrated our third anniversary at the ballpark. I’m thinking we should make this an every-odd-year excursion.

It was awesome – we were at Wrigley Field in the last weeks of a division race. For once, we had beautiful weather. We were in the bleachers, and the national anthem was awesome, followed by an F-18 flyover and, a few hours later, Cubs Win! Cubs Win! And the party was on at the Cubby Bear.

Disclaimer: Hubby is a St. Louis Cardinals fan. Yes, it causes some strain in the marriage, but we have learned to deal with it in the last five years. I’m sure he wouldn’t want you thinking he cheered for the Cubs.

While all that was fun, the best part was that I got to share it with the greatest guy in the world. He has made me a better person. Where I am tightly-wound, he is laid back. Where I sometimes let my worries get in the way of a good time, he convinces me to relax and have a good time. Without him, I fear I would be a tangled mess of nerves 24-7.

He is willing to take charge when I am afraid of confrontation. He is smart and sexy and caring. He (mostly) has patience for me when I am being difficult or argumentative or just plain mean. He helps me keep life in perspective.

Watching him with our daughter sometimes brings a tear to my eye. He didn’t have the best childhood, and he so wants to give Angel Face everything that he did not have.  

Without this man, I would clearly be a mess. But more important, without this man, I would not be the person that I am. He is my partner, my friend, my all. I love him. 

This entry was posted in I'm a wife. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to wood, clocks or baseball tickets

  1. Jennie says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    Go Cubs 🙂

  2. noodle says:

    Awww, that was sweet. Happy Anniversary!

  3. Vixen says:

    Very sweet post. Happy Anniversary!

  4. Erin says:

    Wow! I can’t believe it’s been five years! It really doesn’t seem like it at all….then again, it doesn’t seem like I’ve been married for 3 years, so there ya go!

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. rimarama says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    You two sound like a perfect match.

  6. Christina says:

    Happy Anniversary! Sounds like you two are a perfect match for eachother.

    Mike shares the same idea of “romance” when it comes to baseball! We are taking our 3rd road trip this weekend for MLB- this time to the Cincy to watch the Cubs and the Indians… Glad Im not the only one- I like baseball but I dont “live for this!”

  7. Happy Anniversary! Congratulations! WHOO HOOO!!

  8. Marlee says:

    Congrats!! Hope you have many more happy years together.

  9. Sarah says:

    This post made me so happy. I meant to tell you that yesterday, when I used my pee break to read this, but I forgot in the chaos. 🙂 I’m happy you’re so happy.

Leave a Reply

