Learned fears

Yesterday afternoon, I was at work and in the office of one of my friends. She was telling me a story about how she got this awesome deal on peanut butter cups at Meijer that morning when she opened up her drawer to show me…. 

A mouse was hanging precariously on the back side of her desk drawer. 

A mouse, people. 

A real, living, breathing mouse. 

Of course, we screamed and ran. A woman down the hall hurtled out of her office as well, asking if it was a mouse. That kind of makes me wonder if they’ve had this problem before. 

My friend and I decided that it was a cute little mouse, small and grey and shiny, and had we not encountered it in such an unexpected place we might have liked to pet it. Except for the fact that I’m afraid of rabid mouse bites.  

I’m sure the mouse would have delighted Angel Face. The other day, a locust or a cicada or whatever was perched to our fence, and Hubby called Angel Face over and she immediately reached out to touch it, and shrieked with laughter when it moved and eventually flew away. 

It makes me wonder where we pick up this fear of creepy-crawlies. Because that kid, she’s ain’t afraid of anything (except maybe the music that plays when she goes #2 in her potty).

This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a mommy, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Learned fears

  1. Christina says:

    OMG! I would have screemed like a ltitle girl. A smart little critter though, if I were a mouse I’d scope out the peanut butter cups too!
    Can I share a mouse story?
    Its the morning of my sisters wedding and im in the back of my moms van watching all of the carefully laid out cake layers (my mom makes wedding cakes) Im on the floor just in case anything starts to slide…. on the way out it comes. I stood up and ran toward the back to the seat and pulled my feet up yelling the whole time. Mom and Heidi are both yelling at me to catch it. HA! Yeah right, I would have watched that little one eat off the corner before I could have moved an inch near it. We pulled over and tired to find it to shoo it out but didnt find it untill after the cake had been delivered and we were on the way back from the hair dressers… Heidi still laughs about how I would have let her cake be destoryed before I would touch a 4 inch long mouse.

  2. Erin says:

    I think mice are cute…..although only when in a cage and clean and not hiding in unexpected places.

    I also really like mice Christmas ornaments….I have no idea why.

  3. rimarama says:

    Eeeek! Just the thought of that freaks me out. I don’t think I could find a mouse cute in any circumstance. I’m sure I picked this up from my mother.

  4. Skiplovey says:

    Wow that’s a good question. Where do we learn how to be afraid of certain things? Mice aren’t so bad for me but spiders… forget it. I’ve got the creepy-crawly just thinking about them.

  5. noodle says:

    Mice in cages are cute. Mice in desk drawers are kinda creepy.

  6. I think we’re startled by the surprise of the mouse. I worked for a brief time at the bakery at Whole Foods where they have an awful mouse problem. We would see them skitter across the floor then have to serve customers. My colleague was French and she would swear!! in French – so funny.

    Maybe getting such a great deal on peanut butter cups isn’t quite worth it.

Leave a Reply

