reasons i suck and you shouldn’t be my friend

I am one of those people who, if she is only getting a glass of milk or a dab of creamer for her coffee, leaves the refrigerator open while she gets a glass, pours the liquid in question and reseals it. I do it at work too. I do not, however, leave the water running while I brush my teeth. 

I am also one of those people who doesn’t care very much if her house is dusty and needs vacuuming, except when I am lying on the floor and realize how thick the dog hair is. I also don’t care if crap piles up in unorganized piles on our kitchen table and the breakfast bar. But I do regularly clean my kitchen countertops with an antibacterial cleanser, put dishes away out of the dishwasher ASAP and cook dinner almost every day. 

I am one of those people who likes to be right. A lot. But I am learning to be wrong. Sometimes. And, this weekend, when I snapped at my husband for no reason, I stopped and said, “hey, that was mean, I’m sorry.” See, I’m growing as a person. 

I am one of those people who likes to be liked and needs to be needed. I also hate confrontation and make my husband do all the hard stuff, like firing our insurance agent and talking to our neighbors about the lack of upkeep of their lawn and the dead tree that might fall on our house with the next stiff breeze. I didn’t used to be like this – before I was married, I handled my business by myself, all independent-like. I have no excuse now.  

I am one of those people who tries to be nice all the time, but sometimes I think I am secretly snobby and judgmental. But I’m working on it (unless I can think of a good snobby, judgmental joke – then all bets are off). 

I have a lot of faults, but I still like myself pretty well. I’m a good mom, mostly. I am loyal and smart and a very hard worker. I have a decent sense of right and wrong and mostly do the right thing. I love my family, even when I don’t like them very much. I have a heart for animals. As always, I am a work in progress.  

I wish I had better fashion sense, though. I am jealous of the stylish people.

This entry was posted in I'm a freak. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to reasons i suck and you shouldn’t be my friend

  1. Marlee says:

    I don’t see one good reason that someone shouldn’t like you for those things. I DO leave the water run while I brush my teeth (I even walk away from the sink as it is running) , and am not good at confrontation either.

  2. Skiplovey says:

    hey I do alot of those things too! Is that bad? I think there’s many good things on there, like the dishwasher thing, that’s big. And the cooking thing, holy cow I remember cooking almost every night. Now it’s like, what can I reheat or microwave?
    And yeah I’m totally jealous of stylish people too, especially since all of my clothes currently have to pass the “do I care if this gets spit up all over it?” rule. So I’m feeling very unstylish lately. And I get the green eyes whenever I see someone all smartly dressed, like what a jerk they are to have time to get all gussied up. I guess that makes me kinda suck too? Nahhhhh.

  3. Jennie says:

    I wish had a better fashion sense, myself. I also wish I had someone else’s bank account to fund the goal.

    It sounds like you’re perfectly human. But thanks for sharing nonetheless.

  4. Erin says:

    I was going to actually write a comment….but I’ll just say ditto. To everything. Especially the fashion sense!

  5. rimarama says:

    OK, tell me again why I shouldn’t want to be your friend? Because me no understand.

    Dude, I will leave the fridge open while I make myself a grilled cheese sandwich with a pickle AND a glass of milk! (Don’t tell Al Gore, though.)

    I don’t see anything wrong with anything you said, my friend.

  6. I’d take a work in progress over a perfect person any day of the week. I think we’re all works in progress – it’s refreshingly wonderful to be around someone who at least KNOWS this face.

    As for Al Gore? Any person that has four children and a bajillion grandchildren is in no position to speak about environmental issues.

  7. Swistle says:

    Hm, I just like you better now.

  8. Pingback: Lede Me On » Blog Archive » back in the saddle again

Leave a Reply

