Opposite day

I’m all out of sorts. I feel sad and guilty and tired. See, today was an awesome day at work. We got our “merit increases” today, and mine was even bigger this year than last year, which means that in three years at my current workplace, my salary has increased by nearly $10,000. 

Awesome, right? Totally cool, right? 

I thought so. But, just as picking up a joyful little girl at day care can totally put a bad day in perspective, seeing that same little girl burst into tears and run the other way at the sight of you has a way of evening out any good day too. She screamed when I bent down to pick her up (after chasing her across the room), she screamed when I opened the door to leave, she screamed all the way to the car. She screamed halfway home until I threw the pretzels leftover from my lunch at her in the back seat. 

Okay, I didn’t throw them at her. I handed the bag to her so she could promptly turn it upside down and litter the entire back floorboards with pretzels. And continue to cry. 

Then, Hubby is late coming home and in a foul mood. He doesn’t seem excited about my happy news. It’s good for our whole family, right? So why doesn’t he seem happy? 

Now, after dinner and cleaning up dog crap in the backyard, I can hear the two of them upstairs  – Angel Face is taking her nightly bath, and they are giggling over something. I feel so sad, for some reason. Usually, coming home is like my refuge where I can block out all the lousy office politics and occasional workplace drama. Today, it just feels like I can’t do anything right for the ones I love the most.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy, I'm a wife, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Opposite day

  1. Christina says:

    Sounds like you need a glass of wine and nice long bath! Some days just suck no matter how hard we try. hang in there, the weekend is near!
    Congrats on the raise. You sould be darn proud of that!

  2. noodle says:

    Oh yeah, a glass of wine is definitely called for. Enjoy the news about the raise. Tomorrow will be better.

  3. Sarah says:

    The raise is FABULOUS, and you are truly to be congratulated! As for the rest, we all have off-days. I’m sure tomorrow will be another day.. a better day, even.. and you still got a fabulous raise!!

  4. Jennie says:

    I’m sorry! I know how those days go, and we allll have them, but it doesn’t make them any easier. I hope Thursday (the day after the hump) is much better for you.

  5. Swistle says:

    I totally agree about the glass of wine. These crappy episodes happen sometimes. They feel so bad. Your raise is awesome! Your girl loves you best. And your husband IS happy, but is a guy and doesn’t know how to say it.

  6. rimarama says:

    Girfriend, I hear ya.

    But there is a very good chance that your will feel much, much better tomorrow.

    And congratulations on the merit increase!

  7. Marlee says:

    Congrats on the Moo-La. Hope tomorrow is a better day for you.

  8. mommymartin says:

    Congrats on the raise! We’ll be proud of you, so don’t worry. Maybe your husband and the little cutie were just having off-days too. Seems to be a lot of it going around.
    Hope today was better for you. Try not to be so down.

  9. Vixen says:

    Yes, congrats and I hope tomorrow (today now) is a better day!

  10. Erin says:

    Yay for money! I say, you’ve totally earned some new shoes!

    I hope today was a better day 🙂

  11. I think we live in a cause and effect universe but it’s hard moment to moment to understand the effect. Truth of the matter? Your daughter trusts you with her sadness and her anger. That means a lot more than a raise or even the giggles with your husband at bath time. Trusting a parent with your emotions is the real deal.

    But it’s very hard to feel, in the moment, that you’ve worked hard and just gotten screamed at.

Leave a Reply

