gasping

I can’t breathe right now. 

I heard about the bridge collapse this morning, but I didn’t let myself read any stories or look at pictures until my lunch hour. 

It’s really hurting in my chest and the pit of my stomach. 

One of the pictures I saw was a woman holding an infant. My God. What would I do if I were crossing a bridge with my daughter strapped in her carseat and that bridge started to collapse.  How are these families surviving? 

I think about falling (one of my biggest fears after snakes) and turning around to see her face… the feeling of helplessness is incredible. It leaves me literally struggling for a breath. 

Is this what motherhood has done to me?

This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to gasping

  1. Erin says:

    I am already terrified of bridges….afraid of getting into an accident on them and falling to my death. This scared the crap out of me…

  2. Sarah says:

    I think it’s what HUMANITY has done to you. But take heart.. there’s a lot of good that will come out of this. (I’m like you.. I watched the news for about .02 seconds and then had to turn it. It was too tragic.)

  3. Marlee says:

    I feel the same way except I have family who lives in the Twin Cities so we are waiting to hear from them.

  4. Vixen says:

    Yes, I will have to take some time away from bridges now because bridge collapse was already my number one fear.

    Marlee, I hope you hear from your family soon!

  5. I think I saw the same picture you did. Stuff like that gets to me, too. I remember actually crying over what people had to go through after Hurricaine Katrina.

    Now I’ve never lived through anything intense like that since my daughter was born, but I was in downtown Manhattan on September 11. You just do what needs to be done to survive. I can only imagine that the survival urge would be stronger when it comes to your child.

Leave a Reply

