Everybody’s crazy ’bout a mustached man

So my dad had a mustache for like the first 20 years of my life, but then shaved it off rather abruptly when I was in college. Now, I am trying really hard to remember what he looked like with the mustache and all I can remember are actual photographs I have of the stache. I can’t remember actually looking at my dad or having a conversation with him while he had a mustache. 

Is that weird?

This entry was posted in I'm a daughter. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Everybody’s crazy ’bout a mustached man

  1. Erin says:

    Not so weird. My dad always had a mustache (as you know) and we always joked that we would shave it off when he was dead to see what he looked like. Well, the he shaved it off because of the chemo……but the first time I saw him without it, it took me like 20 minutes to notice that he had shaved it off!

  2. mommymartin says:

    My dad had a beard and a mustache when I was little. First the beard went. Then, the ‘stache. Mom made him shave it with me watching, because when her brother went cleanshaven for the first time his kids would have nothing to do with him because they didn’t recognize him.
    Other than pictures, I don’t remember what he looked like with it, and even the pictures look funny. I do remember, though, how funny those little goodnight kisses felt from under that rough beard and mustache.

  3. Marlee says:

    You know, I read this and thought my dad used to have a mustache, then I thought oh maybe he still does. Now I can’t remember one way or the other and I see him about 3 or 4 times a week. I am an awesome daughter, you don’t have to tell me twice!

  4. Michelle says:

    Erin, I can’t hardly remember your dad with his mustache either… are we all experiencing early-onset Alzheimer’s? How do we explain this phenomenon?

  5. Erin says:

    Michelle — I actually had to call and ask Jenny if Dad had grown his mustache back since his hair is coming back. She thought he was….but we can’t be sure!

Leave a Reply

