unplanned post

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a planner. I do not fly by the seat of my pants. Spontaneity does not define me. I like to know who what where when and why preferably 24 hours in advance. At a minimum.

 I am currently sitting in O’Hare airport (my hometown is so close, yet so far) because my flight to Portland, Oregon is delayed. It was already a little late for my taste, but I generally choose work-related flights (oh hell, all flights) based on how quickly they can get me home (back to Indy) and very little else. So I was arriving in Portland at 9:20 p.m. local time (12:20 a.m. to me) when this flight was leaving on time. Now, I am looking at arriving around midnight local time, 4 a.m. to me. Damn it.

I downed two beers at the airport bar (whoo, no toddler!) when I thought the flight was only half an hour delayed… then the gate got moved… and now I’m sitting on the floor in the hallway of terminal L with my buzz on and a dying laptop battery. And I miss my kid. And I miss my husband. And I hate traveling for work anyway, so this just sucks. Though on the bright side, at least this isn’t happening on the way home.

 I hate leaving, both the drop off at the airport with Hubby and Angel Face (which happened today) or my leaving the house on my own. They both suck. Not sure which is worse. I hate being in a strange city, thousands of miles from home, eating room service food and being ignored by the other staffers on the same trip. I hate airport bathrooms and hotel room blow dryers and taking taxi cabs late at night all by myself.

But now I’m just feeling sorry for myself because my butt hurts and I’m tired and I forgot how good a Corona can taste and I have to pee again and of course the closest restroom is closed so I have to walk a cajillion gates away and I’m about to get on a four and a half hour flight which generally blows all around. The last time this happened to me I was five months pregnant and vomitting pretty regularly, so I guess I should look at the bright side.

Anyway, I’ll be in the Pacific Northwest for the next few days, provided I do actually get there. I’ve never been to this area of the country, so that’s another point on the bright side. See, things are looking up already.

UPDATE: Portland, what I saw of it between intense ten-hour sessions of data presentations and a complete lack of decision-making, was AWESOME. I want to marry it and live with it forever. Wish I could have met all you northwesterners for drinks and appropriate conversations – but I WILL BE BACK!

This entry was posted in I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to unplanned post

  1. mizgee says:

    We are having GORGEOUS weather right now so I hope you enjoy it!

    If you’re feeling adventurous, maybe we should meet for a drink on Tuesday!!!

  2. mommymartin says:

    I’m sorry your night was so long! At least by now it should be over. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that going home goes much more smoothly!

  3. luvmogo says:

    I cannot imagine having to travel for work with my little one at home. Hugs.

  4. Intense data presentations? I’ve never seen those three words together. Usually it’s “boring as all hell data presentations” or “almost died data presentations”. You do inspire

Leave a Reply

