swimming giraffes

This morning, as Angel Face once again directed my behavior with an exaggerated point and guttural “eh” toward the (freshly cleaned!) kitchen sink  so she could place her little tootsies in three inches of water and delightedly hurl small plastic balls at her feet so the recoil could splash her in the face, Hubby came to a realization. 

“She’s so spoiled,” he said. “She runs us!” 

Yes, I thought, she does. But she’s one year old. She doesn’t really know any better. At least that’s what I keep telling myself to make myself feel better and NOT like I’m raising a monster that is destined to be both a Bridezilla and the second coming of Paris Hilton. 

“But she’s so cute,” is what I really said. And he couldn’t argue with me there. She is adorable. Especially when she sees a picture of her mother and loses her mind screaming “Mommy” and pointing at it. I love that. Or when she learns a new word like “swim” or “eye” or “raffff” (Giraffe) or “un-key” (monkey) or “owie” (scabs on her knees).

The light of my life, folks. The light of my life.

This entry was posted in I'm a mommy, I'm a wife, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to swimming giraffes

  1. Christina says:

    Oh Im so screwed- that made me tear up! I can almost hear her sweet little voice. I cant wait to see the face on my ‘light”! Love it!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. mizgee says:

    oh, hormones
    OH hormones!
    Now I tear up. I want a baby now. THANKSALOT. 😛

  3. I want a baby too! Is she available for rental? So what if she has you wrapped around her twee little fingers–that’s what the terrible twos are for: to help you get over it. 🙂

  4. Well, at least we’ll know who to blame when her picture is up at perezhilton.com in fifteen years. 😉

Leave a Reply

