Cleanliness is next to godliness

A couple of things that have caught my attention recently: 

  • A sign magically appeared in the bathroom at work recently that entreats us to wash our hands before returning to work as the CDC recommends hand washing as an important way to stave off the spread of germs. After random, unscientific research, I have discovered that these signs appeared in all four bathrooms on every floor of my workplace, male and female restrooms alike. My issue with this is several fold: 1) I really hope that my coworkers knew enough to wash their hands before returning to work without requiring a sign (in strangely tiny print) about the hazards of non-hand-washing to warn them. 2) I have worked here for three years and the thought that #1 might not be true really creeps me out. 3) Has there been some sort of disease outbreak in the building and they are afraid to tell us? Are we all going to die of some flesh-eating bacteria because Rhonda on the fourth floor forgot to wash up after her morning constitutional? Is there some sort of public health hazard caused by someone in this building? Help me!
  • Criss Angel simultaneously creeps me out and irritates the crap out of me. I’m not big on magicians to begin with, but this guy (and David Blaine) is an exhibitionist magicians, which for some reason makes me irrationally angry. Maybe I don’t like them because I can’t figure out their act and I don’t like to feel stupid. Maybe I’m on to something there.
  • Hubby was working late last night when “The Office” finale aired. As soon as it was over, I had to call him and tell him how much I loved the episode, because I’m sorry, “Pam’s” reaction when “Jim” asked her out was so perfectly played by Jenna Fischer. I’ve been that girl so many times… okay… I WISHED I was that girl so many times and maybe actually got asked out ONCE. But still. It was awesome.
  • I haven’t watched Grey’s Anatomy yet, but I taped it so DON’T TELL ME.
  • I probably watch too much television. But by the time I get Angel Face to bed and dinner cleaned up and at least one of about quadrillion chores done, all I want to do is veg out and not think. Sometimes I don’t even watch the television; I just lay in bed with it on and listen. I don’t even have the energy to open my eyes.
  • I am praying for no major home repairs this year. Though the garbage disposal suddenly stopped working, so that sucks. But in the last three years (we’ve only lived in this house for three years), we’ve replaced a furnace, air conditioner and roof. Granted, hail damage meant insurance paid for the roof, but all that other stuff was expensive.
This entry was posted in I'm a freak, I'm a wife, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleanliness is next to godliness

  1. My favorite restroom sign was at the Head Start where I worked–it used cartoons to show that you needed to wash BOTH sides of your hands, and that you needed to do it with soap and for long enough to actually get the germs off, which you could time by singing the ABC song slowly. It showed unhappy germs abandoning ship like pissed off kamikazees. I want THAT sign in all the bathrooms. I know a lot of grown-ups who could use it! Plus, that would be killer to walk into a random restroom and see some homeless lady washing her hands and singing the ABC song…

  2. noodle says:

    Ohmigod, the Office finale was a bazillion times better than the Grey’s Anatomy finale. And sigh, I wish I was Pam. And had a Jim.

Leave a Reply

