Dateline: Bangalore… I mean Pasadena

I think this is horrible precedent. It’s outsourcing to the extreme. 

As a former newspaper reporter, I am offended and appalled and I hope the people of
Pasadena demand better of their news-gatherers. The Internet may have changed the face of journalism forever, but it should not change journalistic practices.
 

The editor in this case says that you can cover local news from a different continent because you can watch all the city council meetings online. If that’s all his reporters were doing, attending city council meetings and writing about what happened, maybe you can do that from somewhere else. But that’s not what a good reporter does. And you certainly can’t effectively cover “city government and the political scene” that way. 

A good reporter will stay after the meeting, talk with council-people, chase down people who spoke in the hall during the meeting, follow up with office visits the next day, get to know administrative assistants who hold the keys to all the information and BUILD PERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS. 

How are you going to do that from Mumbai?  

Okay, off my soapbox. Now I have to go take Angel Face to the pediatrician for some shots and other pleasantries. Good luck, me.

This entry was posted in I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dateline: Bangalore… I mean Pasadena

  1. Ay carumba! I cannot believe it has come to this. Are there no qualified journalists in California? What is the point of local news?

  2. noodle says:

    Ack! I am speechless, almost. What a travesty. I was a journalism major and even though I went over to the dark side (public relations!), I know a lot of people who are working very hard to move up in the news business. That is just so utterly ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

