have yourself a merry little christmas

Today is Christmas Eve Eve and I am sad. The Weather Forecasters with all their infinite wisdom and future-predicting capabilities are telling me that it’s going to start a “wintry mix” in about two hours, followed two hours later by “ICE” (emphasis theirs).

This will likely make it impossible for my family to attend Christmas Festivities at my grandmother’s house, three hours north of here. I have been to my grandmother’s house for Christmas exactly once in the last TEN YEARS.  But that’s a story for another day.

I know, I should be happy that I am safe and warm and healthy and have heat and all. And I am. But I didn’t realize how much I was looking forward to seeing my family for the holidays until I can’t. And no, we can’t just go a day later (Santa is coming to OUR HOUSE) or even after the holidays (we’re going to Dave’s family’s on the 26th).

And just so you feel even MORE SORRY for me, we leave on January 2 for Miami. So we can go on a seven-day Caribbean cruise on January 3. I know. WOE.

To add insult to injury, my office, which has closed early the day before Christmas Eve EVERY YEAR FOR THE LAST FIVE YEARS, is not closing early today. Something about the office being closed for eight work days and that is enough. Whatever. When has my office ever thought anything was “enough”? We had open bar at the Christmas party. During work hours.

You want good holiday news? R went poopy in the potty last night. And she is so excited for Santa Claus and Baby Jesus. Her chief concern right now is making sure we have carrots to leave for Santa’s reindeer. And that is all she needs to worry about right now.

Today they are having her birthday party at her school, since she’ll be gone for 18 days after today. (What? I counted. The last time I was gone from work for more than five days was… maternity leave.) She was thrilled to bring cupcakes for her friends.

So while I am sad and perhaps a smidge self-pitying, I am also Glad and Excited. I hope the holiday season brings at least some joy and comfort to everyone.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in I'm a daughter, I'm a mommy, I'm a wife, I'm a worker bee. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to have yourself a merry little christmas

  1. Christina says:

    My goodness! That is a lot of information in one post. Happy Birthday to R, Merry Christmas, have a FAB time on your cruise! (have you done this before? LOVE!)
    Im sorry about the weather messing up your plans. It is sad to be alone- but hey, at least you are not weaning this week! WTF was I thinking? HAHAHH!
    Take Care! :)

  2. Victoria says:

    I hope you guys have a wonderful holiday. I hope the forecasters are wrong and that you get to go spend time with your family. I also hope you guys stay safe during your cruise. You’re going to be in my warm and toasty part of the world–hooray! No ice or snow or “wintry mix” here!

  3. vixensden says:

    Enjoy your cruise! and a happy New Year to ya!

  4. Hope you made it up to Grandma’s. We left for Chicago on the 24th but the weather on the 23rd and the 25th was so awful we wouldn’t have done the trip. A crapola weather sandwich!

    And yeah…no pity for you and your little cruise. None at all.

  5. skiplovey says:

    Hope you guys had a great Christmas. And yes I am very jealous about your cruise. Have a daiquiri for me.

Leave a Reply

